Alert Waterloo Region Officially Launches

Waterloo Region, Ontario The Waterloo Regional Police Service, The Region of Waterloo and local area municipalities are jointly launching a new emergency notification system: Alert Waterloo Region (AlertWR).

AlertWR is a service that allows residents to receive important public safety messages in the event of large scale emergencies such as floods, severe weather, or significant power outages. Residents and businesses near an emergency can be informed using geo-mapping technology. Notifications can be delivered to home phones, mobile phones, text and email.

A new website, www.AlertWR.ca, has been launched to promote the system and allow residents to sign up for notifications on multiple devices. The site also highlights local risks and emergency preparedness information.

The AlertWR system has a basic database of home phone numbers, however, residents are encouraged to sign up on www.AlertWR.ca/subscribe to ensure they receive notifications on their preferred devices for their preferred locations (e.g. home, work or child’s school). Multiple family members in a household can also sign up for their own notifications.

 

For more information, please contact:

 

Cherri Greeno, Waterloo Regional Police Service, 519-570-9777 ext. 8773 or cherri.greeno@wrps.on.ca


Bryan Stortz, Region of Waterloo, 519-575-4408 or Bstortz@regionofwaterloo.ca


Nicole Amaral, City of Kitchener, 519-741-2200 ext. 7861 or nicole.amaral@kitchener.ca


Shawn Falcao, City of Cambridge, 740-4683 ext. 4350 or falcaoS@cambridge.ca


Tony Iavarone, City of Waterloo, 519-998-9777 or  Tony.Iavarone@waterloo.ca


Val Hummel, Township of Woolwich, 519-669-6005 or vhummel@woolwich.ca


Dawn Mittelholtz, Township of Wilmot, 519-634-8444 ext. 228 or dawn.mittelholtz@wilmot.ca


Michelle Poissant, Township of North Dumfries, 519-632-8800 ext. 102 or mpoissant@northdumfries.ca


Grace Kosch, Township of Wellesley, 519-699-3946 or gkosch@wellesley.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

2

Contact Us

How Do I...